English Alphabet

An alphabet is a set of letters in a fixed order which is used for writing a language.

The origin of the word 'alphabet'

The English word 'alphabet' comes from the Late Latin word 'alphabetum' from the first two letters of the Greek alphabet (alpha+beta).

Letters of the English Alphabet

The modern English alphabet consists of 26 letters. A is the first letter of the English alphabet. Z is the26th and last letter of the English alphabet. Below you see the alphabet in order.

a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z

Letter Case

We can write each letter in uppercase (also called capital letters, capitals, caps or large letters) or lowercase (also called small letters).

Uppercase (capital letters): 




Lowercase (small letters): 



Alphabetical Order

The English alphabet has a fixed order. For example, A is the first letter and M is 13the letter of the English alphabet.
We often put or arrange things according to the correct order of the letters in the alphabet. This order is called 'alphabetical order'. For example, words in dictionaries are listed in alphabetical order.
If two or more words begin with the same letter, go to the second letter, the third letter and so on.

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Cameroon
  • Canada